IN ILOILO PROVINCE: 6 mayors in ‘critical and high-risk’ COVID-19 areas to get priority vaccination

ILOILO CITY–Six local chief executives from identified “critical and high-risk” COVID-19 areas in the province have been included in the Priority Group A1.5 list of the Department of Health (DOH) and will be vaccinated with urgency.

This, according to an advisory released by the National COVID-19 Vaccination Operations Center on April 5, 2021, and dispatched to the regional and local vaccination centers, implementing units, and vaccination sites.

The six mayors are the following:

  1. Mayor Elvira Alarcon – Batad
  2. Mayor Mark Palabrica – Bingawan
  3. Mayor Francisco Calvo – Calinog
  4. Mayor Oscar Garin – Guimbal
  5. Mayor Ma. Lina Holipas – Leon
  6. Mayor Rema Somo – Santa Barbara

In an interview, Mayor Calvo of Calinog welcomed this latest development, saying that this would make local government executives “more accessible to their constituents”.

It may be recalled, however, that in recent weeks, Mayor Alfred Romualdez of Tacloban City, Leyte; Mayor Dibu Tuan of T’boli, South Cotabato; Mayor Sulpicio Villalobos of Sto. Niño, South Cotabato; Mayor Noel Rosal of Legazpi City, Albay, and Mayor Abraham Ibba of Bataraza, Palawan, were issued show-cause orders by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) for “jumping ahead of the queue in getting their COVID-19 shots”.

Mayor Melecio Yap, Jr. of Escalante City, Negros Occidental, who got his first dose of the Sinovac vaccine in March, said he was ready to face the sanctions for getting jabbed even when he was not on any priority list.

“The call of duty made me step up,” Yap said at that time.

It is not known if the DILG issued him a show-cause order afterwards./iNEWS

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may like

Hot Videos
In the news
Load More